LP Gas Certificate of Conformity (COC)

Certificates of Conformity are required by for all fixed gas installations. Read below for more details.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a Coc for my gas installation?

  • A CoC is proof that your gas installation is safe and complies with the rules and regulations as laid out in the South African National Standards (SANS) 10087-1.
  • The law requires that you be in possession of Certificate of Conformity for gas installations at all times, as does your insurance company. If your property suffers damage due to a gas fault, your insurance company will expect you to produce a valid certificate. Not being able to produce one may invalidate your claim.

When must a CoC be issued?

A Certificate of Conformity (CoC) must be issued for a PERMANENT installation:

  • On completion of a new gas installation;
  • After any modification, alteration or maintenance of an existing gas installation;
  • On change of ownership of a property housing an existing gas installation. (When you sell your property)

What is a permanent gas installation?

  • Legislation deems a permanent gas installation to be a gas installation that is a fixture in a building, immovable and not of a temporary nature. This would include all build in gas equipment – Gas fires, Heaters, Gas Braais, Stoves, Ovens and Hot water systems.
  • Movable gas heaters and gas braais on wheels are seen as temporary and do not require a CoC.

How long is a CoC valid for?

  • A CoC is valid for five years providing the installation has not been altered in any way.
  • Any maintenance or alterations done to your gas installation requires the issuing of a new CoC for the ENTIRE system.
  • An installation must be inspected and a CoC issued when a property is sold.


Areas we serve:  Amanda Glen | Avondale | Bellville | Bloemhof | Blommendal | Blomtuin | Boston | Bothasig | Brackenfell | Chrismar | Churchill Estate | Clamhall | Claremont | De la Haye | De Tijger | Door de Kraal | Edgemead | Elsies River | Eversdal Glenhaven | Fairfield Estate | Glenlily | Goodwood | Harfield Village | Kenilworth | Kenridge | Kuilsriver | La Rochelle | Labiance | Loevenstein | Maitland | Monte Vista | Mowbray | Newlands | Oakdale | Oakglen | Observatory | Oostersee | Oude Westhof | Panorama | Parow | Parow East | Parow North | Parow Valley | Plattekloof | Protea Valley | Ravensmead | Rondebosch | Rosebank | Salt River | Stellenridge | Stikland | Tygerberg Hills | van Riebeeckshof | Vredelust | Welgelegen | Welgemoed